Bringing opportunities to the prepared mind.

Social Media Follow

Hank Wasiak is a partner at the creative firm The Concept Farm, and the best selling author of the Asset-Based Thinkingbook series. He is a three-time Emmy award winning TV host, a teacher at USC’s Graduate School of Business, and a Reiki Master.

Social Media started out as a bit of a novelty — a playground for the “geekerati.” But it has taken hold as a game changing force that will reshape advertising at its very core.

It’s time to move past debates about traditional media co-existing with social media. Madison Avenue should see social media as a wonderful, if not disruptive, gift. It should run hard to catch up with the consumer, let go of legacy business models and build something better.

My career in advertising started in February, 1965, right in the middle of the Mad Men era, and I am fortunate to still be doing what I love. Just when I thought I’d seen everything over the past five decades, along came social media. Here I am at age 67, cheering for change and eager to be a part of it.

To put things into perspective, it’s helpful to look back at the impact that TV had on the ad business in the mid 60s and draw some parallels with where we are today.

Read the rest of this article @MASHABLE

Comments on: "How Social Media Has Radically Altered Advertising" (2)

  1. Thanks for sharing my mashable article. Glad you liked it. Look forward to following your posts.

    Hank Wasiak

    • My pleasure I enjoyed the read, and I look forward to more of your articles in the future. Thanks for checking out my blog!

Leave a Reply

